FR EN
x

360 CNRS researchers have obtained a European Research Council (ERC) grant since 2007. This enables them to conduct exploratory research of their choice over a five-year period - all of which in exceptional conditions!

The ERC in brief

The ERC in brief

Founded in 2007, the European Research Council is part of the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (Horizon 2020). Its president is the French mathematician Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, who was appointed in December 2013.

Individual research grants

Endowed with a budget of €13.1 billion for 2014-2020, the ERC awards individual research grants each year to scientists from around the world. Once selected, the recipients must conduct their research in an EU member state or associated country.

At the frontiers of knowledge

The ERC funds innovative exploratory projects that are likely to generate scientific, technological or societal progress. While all fields of knowledge are eligible, preference is given to new ideas at the interface of the traditional disciplines.

Peer review

Scientific excellence is the ERC’s sole selection criterion. It is evaluated by international experts organized in 25 specialized panels. In 2015, 15% of the proposals submitted by French researchers were approved (compared with a European average of 13.4%).

Favorable conditions

In order to ensure the projects’ continuity in the long-term, ERC grants are allocated for a duration of five years. They enable the recipients to recruit collaborators, carry out missions in other countries, etc. The ERC offers researchers a flexible framework, especially in terms of submitting project proposals and modifying their research along the way.

The ERC awards four different types of grants every year

Starting Grant for young researchers, two to seven years following completion of a Ph.D. (up to €2m)
Consolidator Grant for researchers, seven to twelve years following completion of a Ph.D. (up to €2.75m)
Advanced Grant for established researchers (up to €3.5m).
Proof of Concept to support ERC grantees with the commercial or societal application of the results of their funded research

How to apply

Useful CNRS resources

Entry points, contact and resources to put together your application and submit it to the ERC.

FR EN
x

360 chercheuses et chercheurs du CNRS sont lauréats de l'European Research Council (ERC) depuis 2007. Grâce à cette bourse, ils mènent des recherches exploratoires dans des conditions exceptionnelles !

Qu’est-ce que l’ERC ?

Qu’est-ce que l’ERC ?

Créé en 2007, l’European Research Council - Conseil Européen de la Recherche - fait partie du programme-cadre européen finançant la recherche et l’innovation (Horizon 2020). Il est présidé par le mathématicien français Jean-Pierre Bourguignon depuis décembre 2013.

Une bourse individuelle

Fort d’un budget de 13,1 milliards d’euros pour la période 2014-2020, l’ERC attribue chaque année des bourses de recherche individuelles à des scientifiques issus de tous les pays du monde. Une fois sélectionnés, les lauréats doivent accomplir leurs travaux de recherche dans un pays européen ou associé.

Aux frontières du savoir

L’ERC finance des projets exploratoires originaux porteurs de découvertes scientifiques, techniques et sociétales. Tous les domaines du savoir sont éligibles sachant que les idées neuves à l’interface des champs disciplinaires classiques sont particulièrement recherchées.

Les appels à projet se répartissent selon 25 panels thématiques couvrant les sciences physiques et l’ingénierie, les sciences humaines et sociales et les sciences de la vie.

Évaluation par les pairs

L’excellence scientifique est l’unique critère de sélection de l’ERC. Elle est appréciée par des jurys internationaux réunis au sein de 25 panels thématiques. Le taux de succès des chercheurs français à l’ERC s’élève à 15 % en 2015 (13,4 % au niveau européen).

Des conditions favorables

Afin d’inscrire ces recherches dans la durée, les bourses sont attribuées pour une durée de 5 ans. Elles représentent 1,5 à 3,5 millions d'euros par chercheur. Ce financement permet aux lauréats de recruter des collaborateurs, d’effectuer des missions à l’étranger, etc. L’ERC propose aux chercheurs un cadre assez souple, notamment pour poser sa candidature et faire évoluer son projet en cours de route.

À chacun son ERC

Starting Grant pour les jeunes chercheurs - deux à sept ans après la thèse (jusqu’à 2 millions d’euros)
Consolidator Grant pour les chercheurs - sept à douze ans après la thèse (jusqu’à 2,75 millions d’euros)
Advanced Grant pour les chercheurs confirmés (jusqu’à 3,5 millions d’euros).
Proof of Concept (vérification de concept) à destination des lauréats, pour soutenir la valorisation de résultats obtenus dans le cadre d’une bourse ERC.

Comment participer ?

Le CNRS vous accompagne

Point d'entrée, expertise scientifique et ressources pour préparer votre dossier et postuler à l'ERC.